My Secret-Keeper, Jack.

Jack, our golden retriever was a family dog. He had no favourites among us, and though he was my dog, his relationship with each of us was unique. He came to us in 2001 from Ynys Mon Golden retrievers, Pabi Melyn Ynys Mon,but Jack to us. He was the runt of the litter with big paws, an enormous head , and an appetite that encompassed the kitchen cabinets. For the first year I wondered what on earth I had done up grading from a Yorkshire terrier to a Golden Retriever. In output alone it was a sig ificant up grade. But whatever the teething problems – and they were many, Jack’s  extremely good natured,friendly and loving disposition were never ever in doubt. 

He was a family dog who lay at my feet while I sat at my desk. Or he lay on my feet as I watched TV. Increasingly as he grew older, he became more reserved, but I had so many hours with his head in my lap. He lovedClassic Fm while I was at work, but he was a dog with his own innate sense of dignity. From trampolining with Huw, to tag games witha stuffed toy, or playing water jumps with a hose pipe, Jack came into his own after my husband died. That first night of widowhood Jack slept with all of us in a room, and  over the years, comforted each of us,in turn,in his way. For me this was usually in the long sleepness nights as I worried about each one of my children, collectively and in turn. Sitting on the kitchen floor I would talk or cry – frequently both- and he would sit with me listening and curling into me sometimes licking my tears. After trampolining with the boys he loved nothing better than disco dancing. Front legs in the air, he discoed to eighties music. He was with us in laughter and tears, playtime andwork time. 

Having a dog and terminal illness in the same house might not have been the best idea at the time. My dream was, big dog, part time work, lots of walks, writing time, an eventual house-move. The reality was that work took over as it had to. No one ever wishes on their deathbed that they had spent more time in work, I will wish that I Could havespent more time with Jack. 

Sixteen years have flown.He is the last link with a family of six, that became a a family of five, that became a a scattered a family with a core of three working adults. Truly, my duplo days are over . Jack, gwr  bonheddig teulu ni. Diolch am warchod drysau a step drws. Diolch am fod yn ffrind a chyfaill annwyl. Diolch am yr hwyl , y cysur a’r cwtches. Diolch am y wen a’r gynffon nath byth stopio chwifio tan y diwedd. Diolch am dy fyddlondeb a chariad atom ni gyd.Gofalwr  hyd dy ddiwedd. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

